Meet the delectable TOLULOPE ADELERU BALOGUN

TOLULOPE BIOGRAPH

I ended up in journalism as what some people may call an accident of fate. But years later, I realize that it was no accident at all, but rather the exact thing I should be doing. I respected journalists, but never thought I would be one of them but here I am. I grew up as the youngest of 4 girls with parents that were determined to raise me as a proper Yoruba girl even though we were thousands of miles away from Nigeria.

When I was younger, there were growing pains of trying to reconcile being the product of two cultures, but now I realized that it prepared me for the world I would be entering as a journalist. 

Coming back to Nigeria was nothing short of the exact definition of culture shock. But I decided that whatever I felt I wanted and could achieve outside the country, was achievable right here in Nigeria. 

With the developments happening here in Nigeria and on the African continent there’s nowhere else I’d rather be as a journalist. I believe that time is right for Africans generally and Nigerian specifically to take control of telling their own stories. For years, our stories have been told through the eyes of people who are interested but are not as invested as we are. 
So I want to tell the stories of my people, the stories of my Nigeria, the stories of my generation, the stories of our hopes and fears and dreams as Nigerians and that’s what I’m doing. 

Q&A

1) What did you want to be when you were little?
I wanted to be a lawyer. Actually use to role play with my stuffed animals and make my family take part.

2)    What or who is your greatest inspiration?
My greatest inspiration is my family. They encourage, challenge and push me to be the best version of myself I can. I’m also inspired by women I have seen who have changed lives. I look at that and say to myself that I want to do more than they have done for others. So that keeps me moving.

3)    What’s your most favorite type of music? 
There is nothing like R&B. I grew up in the 90’s when that genre really got its footing and it’s music that speaks to me anytime anyday. I’m a huge romantic and that’s what R&B is all about. But I also enjoy Bon Jovi and Aerosmith, can’t explain that affinity for rock. 

4)    What are your favorite activities, hobbies, or pastimes?
I love reading, I mean I could spend a whole day or week even in bed hibernating with a good book, I’ve even forgotten to eat before, cause I got so caught up in a book. I love being with my family and loved ones. I’ve realized that sometimes the best quality time you have is when you sit with someone and don’t feel the need to talk, but when you get it, you feel like you’ve had one of the best conversations ever. I also enjoying cooking and having friends over for some good food and drinks. Writing and international affairs are also tops on my list of favorite things.

5)    What soothes you?
Writing down my thoughts in a journal or jotting down a quick poem that has been floating around in my head soothes me. Music also has the ability to soothe my spirit and just put me into  the right frame of mind. 

6)    Who would you like to interview, living or dead, that you haven’t?
Does it have to be just one? I would love to interview Michelle Obama, Oprah Winfrey, Cleopatra

7)    What’s your greatest strength?
I think my greatest strength is the fact that I care about people. I want the people around me to be better than the way I met them. Just as I am challenged to become a better person, I hope that I do that for the people around me. 

8)    What’s your favorite thing about your job?
My favorite thing about my job is that each and every day I’m learning something new. The world changes every second and those shifting lines can change perception and reality. I love discovering how new facts and information add depth and will possibly affect the stories and news from around the world. 

9)    What are some of your favorite books?
I grew up the youngest of 4 girls and was always stealing my sisters’ romance novels to read. So, one of my most favorite books is Whitney, My Love by Judith McNaught  then Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom, also Ishmael by Daniel Quinn, anything by Sandra Brown and James Patterson. I’m an avid reader and will read almost anything. 

10)    If you weren’t doing what you are doing now, what would you be doing? 
I think I would be in advertising and public relations. It’s another side of the media world for me, that I have always dabbled into off and on. I would be able to allow my creative juices to flow. 

11)    What’s your favorite food?
My favorite food is white rice, plaintain, and efo riro with all types of meat and fish. There definitely has to be dessert afterwards to finish this off with a flourish. 

Emailtolu@nigeriainfo.fm  Twitter: @reinalydia
Blog: reinaade.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

